Karl Berggren

Karl Berggren is a Professor of Electrical Engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. He is also Director of the Nanostructures Laboratory in the Research Laboratory of Electronics. From 1996 to 2003, Prof. Berggren was a technical staff member at MIT Lincoln Laboratory. He is a Kavli fellow, and a fellow of IEEE and AAAS, and is originally from Coquitlam, British Columbia.

Professor Berggren's research addresses superconductive electronics, single-photon detectors, and free-electron systems including quantum electron microscopy. All of these projects require development of methods of nanofabrication, which forms a major component of his research group, including efforts in templated self-assembly (using electron-beam-lithography to make nanostructures, and then complex chemical systems to assemble useful structures around these lithographically defined nanostructures). His interest in superconducting devices is aligned with an interest in quantum devices, thus applications to quantum metrology and quantum computing or communications are at the core of his work. In this talk, he will explain how superconducting nanodevices enable interesting applications in sensing and electronics, and how their novel properties can be used to sense single photons, as well as process microwave signals with small, integrated devices.
Marc Dignam

Marc Dignam received his B.A.Sc. (Engineering Science, 1986), his M.Sc. (Physics, 1988) and his Ph.D. (Physics, 1991) all from the University of Toronto. He was an NSERC postdoctoral fellow at AT&T Bell Labs (1991-1993) and was an NSERC Industrial Research Fellow at MPB Technologies in Montreal (1994-1996). He re-entered academia as an Assistant Professor in the department of Physics at Lakehead University (1996-2000) where he received a Premier's Research Excellence Award (PREA) in 1999. In 2000, he joined the Department of Physics, Engineering Physics and Astronomy at Queen's University and was promoted to Full Professor in 2010.

Dr. Dignam's research is in theoretical and computational condensed matter physics and optics. He has undertaken research on a wide variety of topics including the linear and nonlinear optical and terahertz response of semiconductor superlattices, quantum wells and nanorods; the nonlinear terahertz response of monolayer and bilayer graphene; and nonlinear quantum optics in photonic crystal systems.

Professor Dignam has over 85 peer-reviewed journal articles and has presented his work at dozens of conferences around the globe. He has served on the technical committee of Photonics North and was a member of a review panel for the Ontario Early Researcher Awards. He has been the Head of the Department of Physics, Engineering Physics and Astronomy at Queen's since July 2014.
Victoria Kaspi

Victoria Kaspi is a Professor of Physics at McGill University, where she holds the Lorne Trottier Chair in Astrophysics and Cosmology, and a Canada Research Chair in Observational Astrophysics. She is the inaugural Director of the McGill Space Institute.

She received a B.Sc. (Honours) in Physics from McGill in 1989, and an M.A. and Ph.D. in Physics from Princeton University in 1991 and 1993, respectively. From 1994-96, she held a Hubble Postdoctoral Fellowship at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory and California Institute of Technology. She was an Assistant Professor of Physics at MIT from 1997-2000, and joined McGill in 2000.

Prof. Kaspi uses techniques of radio and X-ray astronomy to study rapidly rotating, highly magnetized neutron stars. She has done significant work involving radio pulsars and magnetars, specifically, on the study of binary pulsar dynamics, the neutron star population, as well as the study of magnetars, the most highly magnetized objects known in the Universe. Recently, she has begun working on Fast Radio Bursts, a newly recognized astrophysical phenomenon involving few-millisecond radio bursts of unknown origin.

Prof. Kaspi has been the recipient of numerous awards and honours, including the Killam Prize of the Canada Council for the Arts in 2015, and the 2016 Gerhard Herzberg Medal, Canada's top science prize. She is the R. Howard Webster Foundation Fellow of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of London and the American Physical Society.
Ania A. Kwiatkowski

Ania A. Kwiatkowski focuses on understanding the ground-state properties of radioactive ions using ion-trapping techniques. These properties are relevant to investigate nuclear structure, stellar evolution, and precision tests of the Standard Model. She develops novel techniques for improved beam preparation and novel detection schemes for increasingly exotic radioisotopes produced with decreasing cross-sections. Kwiatkowski leads the TRIUMF's Ion Trap for Atomic and Nuclear science (TITAN) group, which performs precision mass spectrometry and in-trap decay spectroscopy. She received her B.A. in physics and French from the University of California, Berkeley in 2005. She pursued her graduate studies at Michigan State University, receiving her PhD in 2011. After a postdoc at TRIUMF, she became faculty at Texas A&M University before returning to Canada as a research scientist at TRIUMF and adjunct faculty at the University of Victoria in the Department of Physics and Astronomy.
Donna Strickland

Donna Strickland is a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Waterloo and is one of the recipients of the Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 for developing chirped pulse amplification with Gérard Mourou, her PhD supervisor at the time. They published this Nobel-winning research in 1985 when Strickland was a PhD student at the University of Rochester in New York state. Together they paved the way toward the most intense laser pulses ever created. The research has several applications today in industry and medicine — including the cutting of a patient’s cornea in laser eye surgery, and the machining of small glass parts for use in cell phones.

Strickland was a research associate at the National Research Council Canada, a physicist at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory and a member of technical staff at Princeton University. In 1997, she joined the University of Waterloo, where her ultrafast laser group develops high-intensity laser systems for nonlinear optics investigations. She is a recipient of a Sloan Research Fellowship, a Premier’s Research Excellence Award and a Cottrell Scholar Award. She served as the president of the Optical Society (OSA) in 2013 and is a fellow of OSA and SPIE (International Society for Optics and Photonics). Strickland is an honorary fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering and holds numerous honorary doctorates.

Strickland earned a PhD in optics from the University of Rochester and a B.Eng. from McMaster University.